One Year

Dear LLM,
One year ago I put on a white dress and walked up the big hill to the
courthouse. I spoke the second most-important “I do” I have said in my
life. One year ago was a day I waited for, prayed for, and will never
forget. One year ago, we adopted you.

If I woke up this morning, and the past four and a half years were
erased-the hardest 1642 days of my life so far-I would scrambled to
begin them again. I have lost nothing I wouldn’t trade for you in a second.

You are the strongest, bravest person I know and you are 5! Imagine
what the future will bring.

Tomorrow you will put on your Spider-Man costume, carry your pink
plastic pumpkin (you love pink!) and go door-to-door asking our
neighbors for candy. It is your favorite day of the year.

It is mine too, but not because of the candy. I will remind you it’s your
adoption day, and you will run past me, onto your next adventure.

All is as it should be.

I love you, my darling boy.

One thought on “One Year

Leave a Reply

